What do you do? How do you do it?

Recently I have been wrestling with the idea of leaving corporate America in my past. I have had the same job now for 6 years, and have been in the telecommunications industry for the last 10 years; always doing IT work.
The company I started with 6 years ago was recently (within 6 months) acquired by a large telecom who, I’ve learned, engages in shady business practices, treats employees with disdain, and by their actions have proven to be against the American people. It is difficult for me to come into work everyday and help further this agenda.
I have a hard time not feeling like a hypocrite every time I walk through the doors. How can I say I support the freedoms of this country if I work for a company who has helped erode those freedoms? How can I believe in my heart that I am against corporate dominance if I help this company further their agendas?
I’ve spoken with a few people on the matter, explained to them what it is that is bothering me; nearly every single person has told me to bury my principles on the matter and keep on keeping on. The only person I’ve spoken to on this that has provided another point of view is my lovely, lovely wife. She is with me 100%, but we are now at a loss as to how to go about being happy, but with less dependence on green paper that passes itself as currency these days.
Have you done it? Have you thrown off the shackles of societal expectations? If so, how did it turn out? How did you do it? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Leave a Reply

